The Philadelphia Story

Esme' Elzi is Tracy Lord, a role made famous by Katherine Hepburn

The Northfield Arts Guild presents Philip Barry’s zany and romantic farce, The Philadelphia Story, September 30 through October 9 at the Northfield Arts Guild Theater, 411 Third Street West, Northfield.  Performances are Fridays and Saturdays at 7:30 p.m. and Sundays at 2:00 p.m. 

A classic American comedy, this intelligent and witty satire takes a clever look at the eve of a posh socialite wedding.  Heiress Tracy Lord is set to walk down the aisle for the second time when she is suddenly confronted by both her ex-husband and a provocative reporter covering the wedding for a national magazine. Will Tracy make it to the altar at all? 

Directed by Justin Cervantes, the charming cast includes Esme’ Etter as Tracy Lord, Jon Larson as C.K. Dexter Haven, Bryan Reed as George Kittredege, Charlie Black as Seth Lord, Jeanne LaBerge-Dunlop as Margaret Lord, Justin Cervantes as Mike Connor, Charlie Krenzel as Sandy Lord, Grace Muth as Dinah Lord, Paul Sequin as Uncle Willie Lord, Jennifer Pike as Liz Imbrie, Allison Eddy as Elsie and Russ Paladin as Edward, Mac and Parson.

Time Magazine said, “Terribly funny, terribly upper class! Woven into the saga of the supertaxed is a thorough discussion of snobbery, from which [the writers] spring to the conclusion that it is possible to have money and social position and still be nice. …In short, "The Philadelphia Story" lifts the daily drudge into a charming never-never land, with complete footnotes excusing its existence. And besides, it’s a good, entertaining show.” 

Tickets for The Philadelphia Story are available online at, by calling 507-645-8877, or at the Center for the Arts, 304 Division Street South.  Adult tickets are $17.00 for adults and $12.00 for students and seniors.  More information available at

The 2016-17 Theater Season is sponsored by Neuger Communications Group, Engage Print and Thrivent Financial.

Northfield Arts Guild activities are made possible in part by a grant provided by the Minnesota State Arts Board through an appropriation by the MN State Legislature & from the Minnesota arts and cultural heritage fund with money from the vote of the people of Minnesota on November 4, 2008.