2016 Northfield Living Treasure Award: Do You Have A Nominee?

certificate (1).jpg

The Arts and Culture Commission invites Northfielders to submit the name of anyone whom they feel is worthy of being considered its 2016 Northfield Living Treasure.

The deadline for nominations is November 6, 2015.  Nomination forms can be downloaded from http://www.ci.northfield.mn.us/DocumentCenter/View/1507 or picked up in hard copy at the Public Library, the City Hall Administration office, the Northfield Arts Guild, the Northfield Historical Society, the Chamber of Commerce, and By All Means Graphic.

The annual award honors an individual who has, over a period of time, made significant contributions to Northfield in, through, or on behalf of the arts and culture, so as to enhance the reputation of the city and the quality of life of its citizens.

Nominees may be either a practitioner in one or more of the arts, or an arts or cultural leader, supporter, or advocate.  The award is one of recognition and has no financial value.

Previous recipients of the award have been Ray Jacobson, sculptor and visual artist; Myrna Johnson, theatre director, performer and arts-community leader; Cora Schultz, Northfield Youth Choirs founder and leader; Paul Niemisto, Vintage Band Festival founder and Cannon Valley Regional Orchestra founder and conductor; Patsy Dew, photographer, theatre artist, NAG and Senior Center arts programming developer and mentor; and Dewayne and Theo Wee, accomplished pianists, music teachers, and unstinting performers and accompanists for individuals and groups at more Northfield events than can be accounted for.