Notice of filing for the 2020 municipal election

Notice is hereby given that a general election will be held in Northfield on Tuesday, November 3, 2020, for the purpose of electing candidates for the offices listed.

Filing period

The filing period for these offices begins at 8:00 a.m., Tuesday, May 19, 2020 and ends at 5:00 p.m., Tuesday, June 2, 2020.  Note: City Hall will be closed Monday, May 25, 2020 in observance of Memorial Day.

Please be aware that restrictions related to the COVID-19 pandemic may affect some of the filing processes. Appointments may be required or alternative methods of filing may be needed. To discuss possible alternate arrangements for filing before coming to City Hall, please contact City Clerk Deb Little via email or phone.

City Clerk Deb Little
Email Deb Little

Location for filing

Candidates for the offices listed may file an Affidavit of Candidacy with the City Clerk, Northfield City Hall, 801 Washington Street, Northfield, MN 55057. All candidates must also complete and file the public disclosure statement prescribed by the City’s Ethics Ordinance as well as any other required forms.  

Candidates who will be absent from the state during the filing period may arrange to file during the seven days immediately preceding the candidates absence from the state. The candidate shall state in writing the reason for being unable to submit the affidavit during the filing period.      

Primary election

A primary election shall be held on Tuesday, August 11, 2020, for any municipal office listed where more than two persons file for nomination. If no more than two persons file for nomination, their names shall not be placed on the primary ballot and shall be placed on the general election ballot as the nominees for that office. 


A candidate may withdraw from the election by filing an affidavit of withdrawal with the City Clerk no later than 5:00 p.m. two days after the last day for filing affidavits of candidacy. Thereafter, no candidate may file an affidavit of withdrawal. 

City offices

Mayor (four-year term) 

One Council Member At-Large (four-year term)  

One Council Member Second Ward (four-year term) 

One Council Member Third Ward (four-year term)

Additional information or questions

For additional information or questions, please contact Deb Little, city clerk.

City Clerk Deb Little
Email Deb Little