Northfield’s Arts and Culture Commission 2013 Sidewalk Poetry Contest Winners Announced


The Arts and Culture Commission (ACC) of Northfield, in partnership with the Friends and Foundation of the Library, is pleased to announce the winners of the City’s third annual Sidewalk Poetry Contest and congratulate them for their efforts.  Chosen from among 121 poems submitted for judging, nine poems have been selected for imprinting in city sidewalks.  

The Arts and Culture Commission applauds and thanks the many local poets who submitted their poetry to the competition.  We are pleased to announce the following winners, in alphabetical order, of Northfield’s 2013 Sidewalk Poetry Contest:

*Brynn Artley   

*Julia Braulick 

*Sonya Christensen                                        

*Pamela Farnsworth-Martin 

*Mohring - Rawson Family

*D.E. Green                                 

*Leslie Schultz                           

*Lori Stoltz       

*Dan Wilharber

The five contest judges were drawn from across the community, representing the schools, the colleges, the city, professional writers, and published poets.  Judging was completely blind, in that poems were not identified by authors’ names at the time of judging.  Judges were: Diane LeBlanc, Director of Writing, St. Olaf College and a published poet; Rob Hardy, published poet and former contest winner; Chris Richardson, Superintendent of Schools and former teacher; Chris Heineman, Northfield’s Director of Community Planning & Development; and Paula Granquist, host of KYMN Radio’s ArtZany.

The winning poems will be on display at the Northfield Public Library, posted on the Friends and Foundation of the Library and City websites, and shared with local media.  Poems will be installed in City sidewalks as weather permits.  Following the installation of this year’s winning poems, a Sidewalk Poetry celebration will take place in downtown Northfield.

The texts of the winning poems can be found in the attached .pdf.

ACC 2013 Winning Poems-final draft.pdf36.23 KB